Three ISU faculty named fellows of leading scientific society

AMES, Iowa -- The dean of agriculture and two professors at Iowa State University have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society.

Catherine Woteki, dean; Carl Chang, professor and chair of computer science; and Nenad Kostic, professor of chemistry were recognized for distinguished efforts to advance science.

Woteki was cited for her notable contributions to research and public service on food safety, dietary guidelines and human nutrition.

Chang was honored for excellence in computer science and software engineering research, for distinguished contributions to the development of modern computer science curricula and for exemplifying leadership in professional societies.

Kostic received recognition for fundamental research in bioinorganic chemistry, particularly for original studies of electron-transfer reactions of metal complexes.

The 308 new fellows will be honored in a ceremony at the society's annual meeting in February.