Michael Whiteford will lead search for Iowa State's College of Design dean

AMES, Iowa -- A 12-member committee is beginning the search for the new dean of the College of Design at Iowa State University. The search committee is chaired by Michael Whiteford, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Whiteford said the committee's goal is to name a new dean by the end of spring semester 2009.

The successful candidate will succeed Mark Engelbrecht, who assumed leadership of the college in 1994 and will step down in June 2009.

"Dean Mark Engelbrecht, who has served for 15 years, has positioned the College of Design to attract a new, outstanding leader to serve as its next dean," said Elizabeth Hoffman, executive vice president and provost. "Dean Whiteford and the search committee will play an important role in recruiting a strong pool of applicants for the position."

"We plan to work with the college faculty, staff and students to develop a position description that will reflect the future direction of the college," Whiteford said.

He said that beginning in the early fall, the position will be advertised nationally. He will accept nominations for the dean position at any time. Nominations should be sent to Dean of Design Search Committee, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, 1550 Beardshear Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa 50011; or e-mail to designdn@iastate.edu.

Joining Whiteford on the search committee are:

  • James Bloedel, professor and chair of biomedical sciences
  • Susan Carlson, associate provost
  • Monica Haddad, assistant professor of community and regional planning
  • Steve Herrnstadt, professor and associate chair of art and design
  • Heidi Hohmann, associate professor of landscape architecture
  • Calvin Lewis, professor and chair of architecture
  • Ingrid Lilligren, professor of art and design
  • Lynn Paxson, associate professor of architecture
  • Bryce Pearsall, managing principal, DLR Group, Phoenix, Ariz.; and chair, College of Design Advancement Council
  • Heather Sauer, communications specialist, College of Design and Institute for Design Research and Outreach
  • Jill Sherwood, graduate student in landscape architecture