College of Human Sciences dean's search committee finalized

AMES, Iowa -- Executive vice president and provost Elizabeth Hoffman has assembled a committee to find Iowa State University's next College of Human Sciences dean. Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, will chair the team.

Human sciences faculty and staff are invited to provide input on expectations and qualities of the next dean. The forum will be held from 9 to 10 a.m. Monday, Oct. 27. The location will be announced at a later date.

Pamela White, University Professor of food science and human nutrition, is serving as interim dean of the college. She stepped in for Cheryl Achterberg, who became dean of the College of Education and Human Ecology at Ohio State University, Columbus, on July 1. Achterberg spent three years at ISU.

The search committee will begin meeting in late October. A new dean is expected to be in place by July 1, 2009.

Other search committee representatives include:

  • Sally Beisser, associate professor of education, Drake University, and ISU alumna
  • Ruth Birch, secretary, office of the executive vice president and provost
  • Susan Carlson, associate provost for faculty advancement and diversity
  • Sedahlia Crase, professor of human development and family studies
  • Mary Lynn Damhorst, professor of apparel education studies and hospitality management
  • Jason Follett, program coordinator, teacher education
  • Kim Greder, associate professor of human development and family studies
  • Thomas Greenbowe, professor of chemistry
  • Marian Kohut, associate professor of kinesiology
  • Ruth MacDonald, professor and chair, food science and human nutrition
  • Bev Madden, ISU career planning and placement (retired) and ISU alumna
  • Scott McLeod, associate professor of educational leadership and policy studies
  • Karen Naig, undergraduate student, family and consumer science education and studies
  • Eric Nonnecke, graduate student, food science and human nutrition
  • Dan Robinson, University Professor of educational leadership and policy studies
  • Ann Thompson, University Professor of curriculum and instruction
  • David Whaley, associate dean, College of Human Sciences