Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Walter Gmelch, College of Education, (515) 294-7000
Benjamin Allen, Provost Office, (515) 294-5882
Debra Gibson, News Service, (515) 294-4917


AMES, Iowa -- A 23-member committee is beginning the search for the new dean of Iowa State University's College of Engineering. The search committee is headed by College of Education Dean Walter Gmelch.

The successful candidate will succeed James L. Melsa, who recently announced that he will retire at the end of the current academic year.

The search committee will hold its first meeting this week. Candidates are likely to visit campus in late March and early April. The new dean is expected to be in place by July 1, 2004.

Committee members include:
  • Peter R. Atherton, vice president and chief technology officer, Hon Industries Inc.
  • James Bernard, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, mechanical engineering
  • Rebecca Black, ISU senior in computer engineering
  • Michael Crum, professor of logistics, operations and management information systems
  • Julie Dickerson, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering
  • Charles Glatz, professor and chair of chemical engineering
  • Frederick Haan, Jr., assistant professor of aerospace engineering
  • Shauna Hallmark, assistant professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering
  • Wayne Klaiber, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, civil, construction and environmental engineering
  • Meagen Marquardt, ISU graduate student in materials science and engineering
  • Theodore Okiishi, associate dean, College of Engineering
  • Pamela Reinig, director, Engineering Communications and Marketing, College of Engineering
  • Thomas Richard, associate professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Thomas Rudolphi, professor, aerospace engineering
  • Sarah Ryan, associate professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering
  • Bruce Thompson, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, materials science and engineering
  • Judy Vance, professor and chair of mechanical engineering
  • Patrick Vickerman, senior director for gift planning and leadership gifts, ISU Foundation
  • Vijay Vittal, professor of electrical and computer engineering
  • James D. Waters, Jr., general manager, hydraulics and hydraulic systems, Caterpillar Inc.
  • Edward Yeung, Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences, chemistry
  • Karen Zunkel, manager, Program for Women in Science and Engineering, ISU


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.