Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Catherine Woteki, College of Agriculture, (515) 294-2518
Alicia Carriquiry, Associate Provost, (515) 294-5882
Teddi Barron, News Service, (515) 294-4778


AMES, Iowa -- A 21-member committee is beginning the search for the new dean of Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine. The search committee is headed by College of Agriculture Dean Catherine Woteki.

The successful candidate will succeed Norman Cheville, who recently announced that he would retire at the end of the current academic year.

The search committee will hold its first meeting this month, and will begin reviewing applications in December. Candidates are likely to visit campus during the spring semester. The new dean is expected to be in place by July 1, 2004.

The committee includes faculty, staff, students and alumni of the veterinary medicine college; faculty from other Iowa State colleges; and representatives from state government, the National Animal Disease Center, commodities groups, the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association and the Iowa State University Foundation. Committee members include:
  • Amy Anderson, third-year veterinary medicine student
  • Claire Andreasen, professor and chair of veterinary pathology
  • Holly Bender, associate professor of veterinary pathology
  • Vlastislav Bracha, associate professor of biomedical sciences
  • Alicia Carriquiry, professor of statistics and associate provost
  • Richard Degner, executive director, Iowa Pork Producers Association
  • Donald Draper, University Professor of biomedical sciences and interim associate dean of veterinary medicine
  • Phyllis Fisher, manager, clinical pathology laboratory
  • Patrick Halbur, associate professor of veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine and past president of the Iowa Veterinary Medicine Association
  • Brent Halling, deputy secretary, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, state of Iowa
  • Lorraine Hoffman, professor of veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • Margo Holland, associate professor of veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Lynda Jacobson, senior director of development - gift planning and leadership gifts, Iowa State University Foundation
  • James McKean, University Professor of veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • Gillian McLellan, assistant professor of veterinary clinical sciences
  • Keith Murray, director, USDA National Animal Disease Center
  • Mary Ann Nieves, associate professor of veterinary clinical sciences and interim director, Veterinary Teaching Hospital
  • James Roth, Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Medicine, professor of veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine and assistant dean of veterinary medicine
  • Max Rothschild, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and professor of animal science
  • David Whitney, DVM and alumnus of ISU veterinary medicine


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.