Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Jerry Thomas, College of Education, (515) 294-8009
Cathy Curtis, College of Education, (515) 294-8175
Kevin Brown, News Service, (515) 294-8986


AMES, Iowa -- Three professors in the department of health and human performance in Iowa State University's College of Education will be inducted as Fellows to the American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education (AAKPE) this weekend.

James Bloedel, vice provost for research and graduate studies and professor of health and human performance, along with Doug King and Rick Sharp, both professors of health and human performance, will be honored during the annual meeting in Pine Mountain, Ga.

According to the academy officials, Iowa State is one of a small number of institutions to have had three faculty members inducted at the same time. With four active Fellows, Iowa State also is among the institutions with the largest number of members in the academy.

Bloedel has had more than 100 scientific papers and book chapters published in the area of human and animal motor control (posture and movement). Bloedel has had continuous funding for his research from the National Institutes of Health for more than 30 years.

King's research has focused on the influence of various supplements on strength and lean body mass. His paper in the Journal of the American Medical Association on androsteine (a supplement used by Mark McGuire) and strength gains received national and international attention.

Sharp focuses his research on supplements and exercise. He also holds a patent for his research and development of a starch that is slowly released during exercise. His 2003 paper summarizing supplements and their influence on exercise has become the most cited paper from the Journal of Applied Physiology.

Fellows are chosen for their professional or scientific work in kinesiology (the study of physical activity). They must have at least a decade of research in the field, show significant contributions to scholarship through refereed publications, presentations and books, and provide leadership in the discipline.

Previously, only two Iowa State health and human performance faculty members have been Fellows -- Barbara Forker, professor emeritus and former department head, and current chairperson, Jerry Thomas. Thomas also is the former president of the academy, serving from 1992 to 1993.

The academy was established in 1926 to recognize outstanding scholars in the study of physical activity. The AAKPE allows for 150 active U.S. Fellows and 100 International Fellows.


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.