Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Kate Bruns, Department of Residence, (515) 294-5637
Annette Hacker, News Service, (515) 294-3720

Union Drive Community Center to be Dedicated Sept. 5

AMES, Iowa -- The Union Drive Community Center, one of the newest buildings on the Iowa State University campus, will be officially dedicated on Sept. 5 at 3 p.m. in the UDCC's multipurpose room, located on the ground level of the center.

The public is encouraged to attend. A program featuring residence hall student leaders, Department of Residence Director Randy Alexander, ISU President Gregory Geoffroy, and David G. Neil of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa will begin at 3 p.m.

Immediately following the program, guests may tour the UDCC and sample food from the Union Drive Marketplace and Clyde's Sports Club, two of Iowa State's newest dining options.

The $15.4 million Union Drive Community Center project was completed by Knutson Construction Co. of Iowa City. Project architects included Baldwin-White Architects of Des Moines and Angelini and Associates Architects of Ann Arbor, Mich. The food service consultant on the project was Ricca Newmark Design of Denver, Colo. The Union Drive Community Center officially opened Aug. 18, and regular dining service began at the Union Drive Marketplace Aug. 22.

The Union Drive Community Center is the fourth new construction project completed as part of the Department of Residence's facilities master plan. The building will serve as a centerpiece for the Union Drive residence neighborhood for younger students, which currently includes Friley, Helser, and Eaton Halls. Future plans call for the demolition of Helser Hall. A second suite-style residence hall is being constructed. Eaton Hall, the first of the three proposed suite-style residence halls, opened its doors to students for the first time in August 2002.


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.