Engelbrecht will lead search for vice provost for Extension

AMES, Iowa -- The search is under way for the next leader of Iowa State University Extension, an organization with a network of educational services in all 99 Iowa counties.

A 20-member search committee will seek a successor to Vice Provost for Extension Stanley Johnson, who has announced his intent to retire later this year.

The search committee will be led by Mark Engelbrecht, dean of the College of Design. Engelbrecht said the committee's goal is to name the next vice provost for extension by the year's end.

Individuals may begin submitting nominations for the vice provost position anytime, Engelbrecht added. Nominations should be sent to the Vice Provost for Extension Search Committee, Office of the Provost, 1550 Beardshear Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa 50011.

The search committee's first meeting will be May 25.

Search committee members

Members of the search committee are:

  • Mark Engelbrecht, search committee chair and dean of the College of Design
  • Duane Acker, former president of Kansas State University, and Atlantic farmer
  • Barbara Anderson, extension field specialist, Ottumwa
  • Julia Badenhope, associate professor, landscape architecture
  • Carol Bradley, former ISU government relations director and consultant to the Board of Regents, State of Iowa
  • Michael Cooley, sophomore, agriculture education
  • Ron Cox, director, Center for Industrial Research and Service
  • Mo Dana, executive director, Downtown Events Group, Des Moines
  • Rob Denson, president, Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny
  • Brian Kemp, Sibley, Soybean Promotion Board
  • John Lawrence, professor and director of the Iowa Beef Center
  • Ruth MacDonald, chair, food science and human nutrition
  • Margaret Mordan, Albia, president, Iowa Association of County Extension Councils
  • Chuck Morris, director, 4-H Youth Development
  • Don Nitchie, director, extension area education, Sioux City
  • Ken Reimer, Elkader, veterinarian
  • JaneAnn Stout, associate dean, College of Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Dale Todd, vice president for product development, Premier Recreation Products, Cedar Rapids
  • Bill Tysseling, director, Continuing Education and Communication Services
  • Catherine Woteki, dean, College of Agriculture