President Leath names search committee for new provost

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State University President Steven Leath has appointed a committee to conduct the search for ISU's next provost.

This week Elizabeth Hoffman, who has served as executive vice president and provost since 2006, announced she had asked President Leath to begin a search to fill her position. Hoffman will continue to serve until the end of 2012, unless she accepts another position or a new provost can begin sooner.

Wendy Wintersteen, Endowed Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, will chair the 17-member search committee. Committee members are:

  • Sanjeev Agarwal, professor of marketing
  • Daniel Burden, president, Professional and Scientific Council; and program coordinator, international and special projects, ISU Extension and Outreach Value-Added Agriculture Program
  • Ann Marie Fiore, professor of apparel, events and hospitality management
  • Nancy Franz, director, Extension to Families, and associate dean, College of Human Sciences
  • Steven Freeman, president, Faculty Senate, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering, and associate director, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
  • David Gregory, associate professor and associate dean, research and access administration, Parks Library
  • Tahira Hira, executive assistant to the president and professor of personal finance and consumer economics
  • Dakota Hoben, Government of the Student Body president
  • Alexander King, director, U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory
  • Cory Kleinheksel, Graduate and Professional Student Senate representative
  • Kenneth Koehler, University Professor and chair, Department of Statistics, and director, Statistical Laboratory
  • Ingrid Lilligren, professor and director, Integrated Studio Arts
  • Catherine Logue, professor of veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • James Oliver, Larry and Pam Pithan Professorship in Mechanical Engineering, and director, Virtual Reality Applications Center
  • Elisa Rizo, assistant professor of world languages and cultures
  • Steven Rodermel, professor of genetics, development and cell biology