Iowa State University undergraduates to show off research at the Iowa Capitol

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State University undergraduates are gearing up to display their research achievements at the Iowa Capitol next week.

The 18th annual Research in the Capitol event, scheduled for 11 a.m. on Monday, March 25, will transform the Iowa Capitol Rotunda in Des Moines into a showcase for the academic achievements of undergraduates from the three Regents institutions. This anticipated event will highlight nearly 60 research projects from students at Iowa State, the University of Iowa and the University of Northern Iowa. Attendees, including legislators, state officials, and university administrators, will have the opportunity to engage with students and learn about their projects. The presentations will be open to all members of the public.

ISU students will present research posters detailing 20 projects spanning a diverse array of subjects, ranging from disease threats to apples and pears to the use of soybean-based polymers to improve asphalt. The approximately 1,500 ISU undergraduates actively involved in research position themselves to compete for prestigious scholarships and secure opportunities to present their findings at esteemed conferences.

Ashley Hipnar, a senior in environmental science and global resource systems from Council Bluffs, will provide opening remarks during the event. Hipnar will discuss how research has enriched her education at Iowa State.

“Research in the Capitol serves as a platform for ISU students to showcase their outstanding research in front of state and university leaders, as well as their peers,” said Svitlana Zbarska, campus-wide undergraduate research program coordinator. “At Iowa State University, undergraduate education reaches beyond the classroom. Students are empowered to gain impactful research experience, and this event provides a spotlight for our students' remarkable accomplishments.”

The following ISU students will present their research at this year's event (with hometowns, majors, and research titles provided):

Hannah Albrecht, industrial engineering, Le Mars; Jenna Wols, industrial engineering, Tinley Park, Illinois: “Expanding the UNIVERSE: UNderstanding Industrial Engineering VERSatility for K-12 Educators”

Duy Bui, mechanical engineering, Waukee: “Aerosol Jet Printing – Electronics Fabrication Technique”

Brady Clausen, biology, Milford: “Impact of Soil Amendments with Digestate and Biochar on Agriculturally Significant Plant Pathogens”

Matthew Crabb, electrical engineering, Ankeny: “Low-Cost, Accurate, Modular Digital to Analog Conversion on PCB using Built-In-Self-Test Methodology”

Grant Dahlen, political science/criminal justice, West Des Moines: “The Failure to Protect the Best Interests of Iowa's Citizens Public Health and Safety by The State Government”

Seth Entriken, genetics, Adel; Dani Cortes, genetics, San Jose, Costa Rica; Amanda Zumbrock, genetics, Wheaton, Illinois: “Role of Gap Junction Proteins on Left-Right Development”

Emily Hatch, architecture, Plano, Texas: “Assessing the impact of increased Minimum Fresh Air per Person in classrooms in Des Moines, Iowa”

Damien Henry, electrical engineering, Blockton: “Planning Iowa’s Energy – What do the People Want?”

Ashley Hipnar, environmental science and global resource systems, Council Bluffs: “How City Governments are Addressing Climate Justice Globally: A Systematic Literature Review”

Frances Jackson, agricultural business/accounting, Garwin: “The Financial impact of using Cover Crops on Integrated Farming Operations”

Jared Kaczor, chemical engineering, Garner: “Selectively Implosive Chemical Recycling of Poly(Ethylene Terephthalate)”

Alex Kurtt, biology/environmental science, West Des Moines: “Influences of non-flight thermogenesis variation in Bombus impatiens”

Cynnava McAvoy, Biological Systems Engineering, Cumming: “Tracing Phosphorus Pathways in Walnut Creek: A Study in Iowa’s Agricultural Watershed”

Megan McGuire, criminal justice/psychology, Ankeny: “Producing Datasets: Capturing Images on Multi-Camera Smartphones for Source Camera Identification”

Jefferson Roberts-Dobie, chemical engineering, Cedar Falls: “Soybean-based polymers for reclaimed asphalt roads”

Emma Ross, chemistry, Estherville: “A benchtop route from elemental Se to superior thermoelectric β-Ag2Se”

Sophia Schmidt, horticulture, St. Anthony, Minnesota: “Panic in the Orchards! Characterizing Streptomycin Resistance in Iowa Erwinia amylovora Isolates”

Davis Verhoeven, biology, Ames: “Engineering an Improved mRNA Vaccine”

Ryan VerMulm, architecture, Hartley: “The Evolution of Architectural Skin - Adaptive & Reactive Architectural Façade”

Jonathan Zugay, political science, Slater: “Iowa Caucus Polling Project”