News Archive

View Past Releases

Thursday, August 19 2004


Hayden Park dedication Aug. 28

A bike ride from Reiman Gardens, remarks by President Gregory Geoffroy, and Recreation Services' kayak and canoe rides are part of the dedication of Ada Hayden Heritage park, north of Ames, Aug. 28.

Dedication info.

William Robinson named Iowa State University Distinguished Arts and Humanities Scholar

William Robinson, professor of philosophy, has been named Iowa State University's 2004-05 Distinguished Arts and Humanities Scholar by the university's Center for Excellence in the Arts and Humanities. Robinson will receive a semester free from teaching responsibilities to work on scholarly research. He will present a lecture on his work during the 2005 fall semester.

See news release.


Karol DeWulf NickellNickell

Better Homes and Gardens editor is 2004 Schwartz Award winner

Karol DeWulf Nickell, vice president and editor-in-chief of Better Homes and Gardens magazine, is the recipient of the 2004 James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Communication. It is the highest honor conferred by Iowa State University's Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication.

See news release.

ISU College of Veterinary Medicine will hold first White Coat Ceremony, Aug. 20

The incoming class of Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine will be "coated" Friday in a White Coat Ceremony, a rite of passage common to medical professions. This is the first year the ISU college has held the ceremony, which is a tradition in many colleges of medicine, pharmacy and veterinary medicine

See news release.


Lynnette PohlmanPohlman

Pohlman to receive ISU College of Design's Christian Petersen Award

Lynette Pohlman, who has preserved the legacy and art work of Christian Petersen at Iowa State, will receive the College of Design's Christian Petersen Award on Monday. The college's highest award recognizes Pohlman's leadership in establishing the arts as an integral part of the ISU culture. Pohlman is director and curator of University Museums.

See news release.

Iowa State University Organizes Workshops on Water, Wastewater Treatment Practices

Iowa State staff members will travel around the state in the next few weeks to share information about water and wastewater management practices in Iowa industries. The free, half-day workshops will be held in Marion, Bettendorf, Sioux City and Des Moines.

See news release.

Iowa State foreign languages professor receives National Endowment for the Humanities grant

Aili Mu, assistant professor of foreign languages and literatures at Iowa State University, has been awarded a $75,000 National Endowment for the Humanities grant to study Chinese "Short-short" stories. "Short-short" stories are a subgenre of Chinese fiction about 1,500 to 3,000 (Chinese) characters in length. Mu shares the grant with professors from Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, Ind., and Lingnam University, Hong Kong.

See news release.

Cael makes Vanity Fair

Iowa State standout and Olympic wrestler Cael Sanderson is featured, along with other U.S. Olympians, in a special collectors' edition of Vanity Fair magazine. The September issue is currently on newsstands.

ISU alumni named poet laureate

Iowa native and 1962 Iowa State graduate Ted Kooser recently was named the next poet laureate of the United States. CBS News.

ISU ag engineer's award-winning design advances fertilizer application technology

One of the year's best new technologies in agriculture was designed by a team led by ISU Extension ag engineer Mark Hanna. The Impellicone is a fertilizer application system that has the potential to reduce the amount of ammonia typically used on crops. The American Society of Agricultural Engineers gave it their top technology award.

See news release.

ISU chemistry professor elected to International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science

Mark Gordon, Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences and professor of chemistry, has been recognized by the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science for his innovative work in the development and application of new methods in scalable electronic structure theory.

See news release.