News Archive

View Past Releases

Friday, September 3 2004


Iowa State's Catt Center to host Iowa launch of new national voter education/awareness campaign by national League of Women Voters

Iowa State's Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, along with the national president of the League of Women Voters Kay Maxwell and Iowa Secretary of State Chet Culver, will host the Iowa launch of a pre-election day voter education and public awareness campaign at a 1:30 p.m. press conference, Wednesday, Sept. 8, in Room 302, Catt Hall. The public is invited. Catt Center initiatives to educate and engage young voters will also be discussed. Cards provided by the League of Women Voters titled "5 Things You Need to Know on Election Day" will also be distributed.

See news release.

book jacket cover

New book by Iowa State journalism professor examines how to bridge the technological "Interpersonal Divide"

In the new book, "Interpersonal Divide: The Search for Community in a Technological Age," Michael Bugeja, professor and director of the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State, says modern technology is driving civilization away from real communities. Bugeja writes that e-mail and cell phones have created an "interpersonal divide" -- a void that develops between people when they spend too much time in virtual, rather than real, communities. He notes communications problems may be both business and personal.

See news release.

Task force will meet Sept. 7

The Task Force on Assuring Successful VEISHEA and Other Student/Community Celebrations will meet Tuesday, Sept. 7, from 1 to 5 p.m. in the Great Hall, Memorial Union. A significant portion of the meeting will be devoted to the findings of Work Group 1. That group has been charged with determining the events of the April 18 disturbance in Campustown. Meeting agenda.

Iowa State University psychology professor earns Young Investigator Award

Kenneth Malmberg, assistant professor of psychology at Iowa State University, has received the Young Investigator Award from the American Psychological Association for his paper "The Effect of Normative Context Variability on Recognition Memory." The paper was co-written by Mark Steyvers, assistant professor of cognitive science at the University of California, Irvine.

See news release.

Iowa State University names chair of naval science department

Capt. Douglas G. MacCrea has been named professor and chair of naval science at Iowa State University. About 50 midshipmen are enrolled in the Navy ROTC program.

See news release.

Ecologist and author David Orr will speak
at ISU Sept. 10

A noted ecologist and author will present Iowa State University's P. H. Elwood Lecture in Landscape Architecture on Friday, Sept. 10. David Orr's lecture. "Patriotism, Politics and the Environment in an Age of Terror," will focus on the need for a coherent environmental agenda. Orr is the Paul Sears Distinguished Professor and chair of the environmental studies program at Oberlin College. The lecture at 7 p.m. in the Kocimski Auditorium, College of Design is free and open to the public.

See news release.

ISU professor receives botanical society's
highest honor

For his pioneering research on plant ultrastructure, an ISU professor has received the Botanical Society of America's Award of Merit.

See news release.

ISU strategic plan draft unveiled

Iowa State aspires to be one of the world's leading universities in educating students and putting science and technology to work. The first step is a draft of what will become ISU's next strategic plan. Although still a work-in-progress, the university community is invited to review the strategic plan draft at Comments may be submitted to or at a Sept. 10 open forum at the Memorial Union Gallery from 9 to 10 a.m.

See news release.

Women's basketball team ranks third academically

The Iowa State women's basketball team ranked third nationally among Division I schools, with a 3.48 team grade point average in 2003-04. The Cyclones had five players on the academic all-Big 12 team and 10 student-athletes on the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll for the spring semester.

See news release.