News Archive

View Past Releases

Monday, May 22 2006


Tartakov to Hall of Fame

Professor emeritus Carlie Tartakov will be inducted into the Iowa African American Hall of Fame.

Register article.

News tip: ISU experts can comment on June 6 gubernatorial primary

ISU offers several experts who can provide expertise on the key issues of both the primary, and November general election.

News release.

Online ride share program helps people get home more safely

Students or staff who want a ride, or have a space in their vehicle they'd be willing to share, can connect on the recently unveiled Rideshare Board online.

News release.

SETA Offers User-Friendly "Paper of the Week"

SETA now makes data as easy to find -- and read -- as the click of a mouse through its "Iowa Research Paper of the Week."

News release.

12 Academic All-Staters headed to Iowa State

Twelve of The Des Moines Register's Academic All-Staters are coming to Iowa State. "For the last eight years, more Academic All-State students have decided to attend Iowa State than any other university in the nation. That speaks to the quality of our academic programs," says Tom Becker, associate director for freshman recruitment in ISU's Office of Admissions. "These students are among the best and brightest in the state of Iowa, and they were heavily recruited by universities throughout the United States. They have taken a close look at the quality of faculty, the staff, and the support network here at Iowa State and understand that we can help them reach their dreams, goals and aspirations." Now in its 21st year, the Academic All-State Team is sponsored by The Des Moines Register in cooperation with eight statewide education organizations. High school principals nominate students, and judges consider high school transcripts, ACT or SAT scores, school and community activities, and an essay. From the nominees, judges select the top 50 students in the state -- 10 from each of five Iowa regions. Ten of those 50 students are selected as members of the Register's Academic All-State team.