News Archive

View Past Releases

Tuesday, July 12 2005


Wintersteen named interim ag dean

Wendy Wintersteen has been named interim dean of the College of Agriculture, effective Aug. 1.

News release.

Researcher returns from Brazil with material to study soybean rust

An ISU plant scientist has returned from Brazil equipped with the genetic material necessary to study the molecular interaction between a soybean plant and the Asian rust fungus.

News release.

Scientist named to national security group

ISU scientist Surya Mallapragada will join a study group that looks into the science of national security. Every year, the Defense Science Study Group invites 12 to 15 young scientists to discuss defense policy, military operations and more.

News release.

ISU, Des Moines to host '08 women's tourney

Iowa State has been chosen as one of eight schools to play host to first- and second-round games of the 2008 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. The event, featuring eight teams, will take place at the Iowa Events Center's Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

News release.

Biodiesel pilot plant set to begin production

Later this month, a cutting-edge biodiesel pilot plant should be up and producing as much as 60 gallons of biodiesel per hour. The new plant will be able to produce biodiesel not only from soy oil, but from such inputs as corn oil and grease from food processors.

News release.

Nelson to lead Study Abroad Center

He studied abroad in his college days. And now Trevor Nelson is working to see that Iowa State students have the same opportunity. Nelson, a native of the United Kingdom who studied in the United States, is the new director of Iowa State's Study Abroad Center.

News release.

Agriculture dean Woteki resigns

Catherine Woteki, dean of the College of Agriculture since January 2002, announced July 5 she will resign to take a position with a national food company. Her resignation is effective July 31.

News release.

Team test solar car

Iowa State's solar car made a quick test run to southeast Iowa recently. The student solar car team will soon race their car from Texas to Canada.

News release.

ISU scientists win R&D 100 Award

Brian Gleeson and Daniel Sordelet of Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory have won an R&D 100 Award for a coating that helps turbine blades hold up to the heat of jet engines.

News release.

Roth appointed to national biosecurity board

ISU veterinary medicine professor James Roth has been appointed to the National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity. U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Mike Leavitt appointed Roth to the 24-member that will advise the federal government on ways to promote biosecurity in life science research.

News release.

Iowa Public Radio names executive director finalists

Two veterans of public broadcasting have been named finalists for the position of executive director of the newly created Iowa Public Radio. They are Cindy Browne, a Minnesota-based public broadcasting consultant, and John Stark, general manager of KNAU-FM, the public radio station at Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff.

News release (PDF file)